Buhari appoints new Service Chiefs

Umahi legacy


(File copy: Buhari with  past service chief)

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

This was disclosed in a statement by Presidential Spokesman, Femi Adesina on Tuesday.

According to Adesina, those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

President Buhari thanked  the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he called  their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

The new Service Chiefs are: Major-General Leo Irabor, Chief of Defence Staff; Major-General I. Attahiru, Chief of Army Staff; Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo, Chief of Naval Staff; and Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao, Chief of Air Staff.

The President congratulated  the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities, Adesina said.