Sani Bello submits 18 commissioner nominees to Niger Assembly


Gov. Abubakar Sani  Bello of Niger has submitted the names of 18 commissioner nominees to the State House of Assembly for screening and confirmation following dissolution of his cabinet in October.

The Speaker of the Assembly, Alhaji Ahmed Marafa made the disclosure during plenary in Minna on Thursday.

Bello, in a letter read on the floor of the assembly by the speaker, said his action was in line with section 192 (2) of the 1999 constitution as amended.

The nominees include Messrs Idris Amin, Zakari Bawa, Zakari Abubakar, Ibrahim Panti, Umar Tagagi, Hajiya Ramatu Yardua, Dr Jibrin Mustapha, Mamman Musa, Amina Gu’ar and Ismail Ibrahim.

Others are Ibrahim Balarabe, Danjuma Sallau, Fatima Madugu, Zakari Jikantoro, Nasara Dan Malam, Isah Kanko, Kabiru Musa and George Koce.

The assembly unanimously resolved to commence screening of the nominees in the first week of January 2018.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that eight of the 18 commissioner nominees were returned by the governor.

NAN also reports that Bello had made an impromptu visit to the state assembly prior to the  plenary, where he held a closed door meeting with the lawmakers.

Speaking to newsmen shortly after the meeting, the Speaker Alhaji Ahmed Marafa, said the governor had come to resolve pressing issues in the state. (NAN)