Sokoto : Wamakko declared winner amid protests by ANPP supporters








The Independent National Electoral Commission,INEC has declared  Magatakarda Wamakko   winner of the gubernatorial election in Sokoto State.Wamakkko the PDP candidate polled 518,247 votes to defeat others.The All Nigeria Peoples Party ANPP  came second while Congress for Progressive Change ranked third.

But even before the winner was  finally declared the ANPP rejected the results.In fact ,there were protests  by ANPP supporters  in Sokoto, but they  were checkmated by the heavy security presence in the city.

It is however interesting that in all the elections so far conducted by INEC  in the states where the Supreme Court recently  sacked 5 PDP governors, only PDP candidates  have emerged as winners.So far elections have been held in Adamawa, Bayelsa and now Sokoto States.

Despite the protests Wamakko Will certainly cherish  his victory today as it represents what  his supporters called triumph over the machinations of his opponents even within the PDP.It took a concerted effort by some northern governors led by Governor Sule Lamido of Jigawa state to secure the PDP ticket for Wamakko as some forces in the presidency had plotted to dump him the way ex Governor Timipre Sylva was humiliated out of the race in President Goodluck Jonathan’s Bayelsa state.


No tags for this post.