Young Parliamentarians’ Forum holds retreat in Owerri – Read the Communique


Following the inauguration of the Young Parliamentarians Forum (YPF) of the 9th Assembly by the President of the Senate, the Forum held its 2020 annual retreat in Owerri, Imo State deliberate on key issues and develop its 2020 engagement agenda. The retreat among others focused on constitutional review, electoral reforms, shrinking civic space and the petroleum industry bill; as well as other issues of critical importance. At the end of the retreat, the forum resolved as follows;

  1. The current security situation in the poses a threat social cohesion and development. The YPF expressed deep concerns with the level of insecurity and its impact on young people, women and people living with disabilities. The YPF commends the security agencies especially the gallant men and women in the warfront for their selflessness and patriotism in combating insecurity. The YPF calls on governments at all levels review the current ensure peace and security in line with democratic standards of national security management. The YPF calls for more leadership and professionalism from security agencies. The Forum aligns itself with the resolution of the National Assembly calling for the immediate removal of the Service Chiefs.
  • Government at the national and state levels should declare a state of emergency on youth development the deplorable socio-economic condition of young people across Nigeria.
  • The YPF reaffirmed its commitment to deepening the democratic civic space and protection of human rights and will therefore not support proposed legislations like the hate speech bill, social media bill, the NGO bill in their current form, all of which are capable trampling on the rights of Nigerians. However, the YPF calls on citizens to be sensitive to the rights of others and be responsible in the exercise of their rights.
  • The YPF will promote the involvement of citizens in the ongoing efforts to amend the constitution. In this regard, the Forum will provide leadership in building consensus on constitutional issues amongst young people in Nigeria and support constitutional amendments geared towards promoting devolution of powers, national integration, fiscal federalism and economic development.
  • The YPF will canvass for further constitutional amendments to increase youth and women representation in elective and appointive positions in the . The Forum will particularly take deliberate steps to promote the participation of women in politics.
  • The YPF recognized the urgent need to deepen the integrity of elections through amendments to the electoral legal framework. Particularly, the YPF will propose amendments that deepen internal democracy in parties and sanitize the candidate nomination process. Other priority issues include; review of timelines for the resolution of pre-election matters before elections; bridging the dichotomy between election petition tribunal and regular courts; deployment of technology for results collation and transmission and electronic accreditation of voters; creation of the electoral offences commission amongst others.
  • The YPF supports ongoing reforms in the petroleum sector and will work assiduously to ensure the passage of the Petroleum Industry Governance Bill (PIGB) within the time slated by the leadership of the National Assembly taking into consideration the interest of Nigerians and other stakeholders in the sector.
  • The YPF frowns at the non-compliance of State Governors to the constitutional amendment granting financial autonomy to State Houses of Assembly and therefore calls on the Attorney General of the Federation to, as a matter of urgency, enforce this constitutional requirement.
  • The YPF identifies collapse of Local Government System as one of the factors responsible for worsening insecurity and therefore will support the ongoing Constitutional Amendments to grant financial and administrative autonomy to Local Government Councils.
  1. The YPF will sustain the inauguration of the Forum in State Houses of Assembly to build the capacity of members and activate the inclusion of young persons in governance, leadership and the democratic process. 
  1. The YPF acknowledges the commitment of the leadership of the 9th National Assembly to youth inclusion and the support for the YPF. The YPF calls on the leadership of the National Assembly to increase the support to the YPF and to ensure representation of young legislators on special committees like the Constitution Review Committee.
  1. The YPF calls for increased and support from donor partners, civil society and professional organizations in achieving the mission of the forum. The YPF appreciates Yiaga Africa and Open Society Initiative for West Africa (OSIWA) for supporting the YPF.


  1. Hon. Kabir Ibrahim Tukura             _____________________
  2. Rt. Hon Nasir Mu’azu Magarya      _____________________
  3. Hon. Karu Simon                              _____________________
  4. Hon. Samaila Sulaiman                    _____________________
  5. Hon. Dachung Musa Bagos             _____________________
  6. Hon. Abdullahi Sa’ad Abdulkadri   _____________________
  7. Hon. Ugonna Ozurigbo                    _____________________
  8. Hon. Mansur Manu Soro                  _____________________
  9. Hon. Babangida Alasan                    _____________________
  10. Hon. Usman Abdullahi                     _____________________

11.     Hon. Ibrahim Almustapha               _____________________

12.     Hon. Umar Muda Lawal                  _____________________

13.     Hon. Muktar Chawai                        _____________________

14.     Hon. Kpam Jimin Sokpo                  _____________________

15.     Hon. Shina Peller                             _____________________

16.     Hon. Sulaiman Abubakar Gumi       _____________________

17.     Hon. Tajudeen Obasa                       _____________________

18.     Hon. Jafaru Ribadu                          ____________________

19.     Hon. Kasimu Bello Maigari             ____________________

20.     Hon. Abubakar Yahaya Kusada       ____________________

21.     Hon. Philip Dasun                            ____________________

22.     Hon. Nasiru Bello Lawal                 ____________________

23.     Hon. Ifeanyi  Chudy Momah  ____________________

No tags for this post.