Yari wins Zamfara West Senate seat

Share the news

By Ishaq Zaki

#TrackNigeria: The Independent National Electoral Commission () has declared Gov. Abdula’ziz Yari of Zamfara as winner of Zamfara West Senatorial election held on Saturday.

The district comprised six local government areas of Anka, Bakura, Bukkuyum, Gummi, Maradun and Talata-Mafara

Announcing the results in Tatala-Mafara on Monday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Lawal Mayanchi, said Yari of the APC polled 153,626 votes, while Alhaji Lawal Hassan of the PDP scored 69,293 votes.

Other contestants from other political parties, who participated in the election, were Muhammad Lokoja of the National Rescue Movement (NRM) with 6,727 votes, Muhammad Rilwan of Peoples Party of Nigeria (PPN), who had 133 votes and Nasiru Anka of the Peoples Redemption Party who scored 555 votes.

A chieftain of the APC in the state, Alhaji Sha’ayau Sarkin-Fawa, described the victory as a welcome development.

Sarkin-Fawa said Gov. Yari deserved to be a representative of the state in the Senate, considering the achievements recorded by his administration in the past eight years.

He said that the victory was an indication that the people of Zamfara were with APC as a political party. (NAN)

Share the news