U-20 National Team:Garba invites 35 players

By Raphael Ekpang

Newly-appointed Head Coach of U-20 National Team, Manu Garba has invited 35 players for screening as he launches the race to get the Flying Eagles to the 2015 African Youth Championship, and subsequently, the FIFA U-20 World Cup New Zealand 2015.

Nigeria will clash with the winner of the preliminary fixture between Kenya and Tanzania, in the second round of the qualifying series for the African Youth Championship in May, with the first leg away. Triumph will take the team into the final round of the qualifiers, and
the continental championship is slated for Senegal in March 2015.

The FIFA U-17 World Cup -winning Coach will start the screening programme at the FIFA Technical Centre, National Stadium Complex, Abuja on Monday, and has also encouraged players who fall within the age grade and are cocksure of their ability, but are not on the list
of 35, to turn up at the screening venue.

Leading the pack is youthful Super Eagles B striker Etebo Oghnekaro, but there are also Premier League boys Yakubu Mohammed (Gombe United), Suleiman Abdullahi and Auwal Umar (El-Kanemi Warriors), Abdulhafeez Olawale (Crown FC) and FC Taraba’s Timothy Danladi.

All the invitees are expected to arrive in Abuja on Sunday, 2nd March, 2014.


Victor Chukwuemeka Mbaoma (Remo Stars); Iluebbey Austin Osho, Ifeanyi Abara, Bashiru Mansur, Adekunle Adegboyega Joseph, Momodu Mohammed, Alashe Sheriff Ajibola, Joshua Enahoro, Julius Emiloju, Emmanuel Damian, Chukwuma Opara (MFM FC); Yakubu Mohammed (Gombe United); Suleiman Abdullahi, Auwal Umar (El-Kanemi Warriors); Udeh Maduka Christopher (Abia Comet); Aliyu Sani Jandi (Niger Tornadoes); Mazadu
Suraju Abdullahi, Shehu Magaji (Standard FC); Abdulhafeez Olawale (Crown FC); Anthony Chukwudi Omaka, Aremu Hafeez (COD FC); Abubakar Lawal (Sokoto United); Lawal Abdullahi (Dabo Babes); Okere Jerry Osondu, Chinonso Nwosu David, Orisakwe Chibueze, Alakwem Mishack, Oscar Onyeka (Taye Football Academy); Jonathan Yakussak (Boro United); Timothy Danladi (FC Taraba); Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves); Adamu Abubakar (Flash FC); Bilyaminu Yusuf, Mubarak Umar, Mudashir Garba (Everton FC)

No tags for this post.