More trouble for PDP as 11 Senators defect to APC

APC 600Eleven Senators elected on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party this morning defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC).

A statement earlkier in the day said ,a formal letter to this effect has been delivered to Senate President David Mark and it is expected to be read on the floor of the Senate this afternoon.

Those who defected include Senator Bukola Saraki-Kwara Central;Senator Umaru Dahiru-Sokoto South; Senator Magnus Ngei Abe -Rivers South-East; Senator Wilson Asinobi Ake-Rivers West; Sen. Bindawa Muhammed Jibrilla-Adamawa North; Sen. Mohammed Danjuma Goje-Gombe central; Sen. Aisha Jummai Alhassan-Taraba North; Sen. Mohammed Ali Ndume-Borno South;Senator Mohammed Shaba Lafiaji-Kwara North;Sen. Abdulahi Adamu-Nasarawa West and Senator Ibrahim Abdullahi Gobir-Sokoto East.

This is only the first instalment of many other Senators of the Peoples Democratic Party expected to defect to the All Progressives Congress soon.

Five PDP governors defected to APC last year.About 37 house of representatives members also defected to APC though some have reportedly returned to the PDP.
The latest defection by senators serves as a further blow to the PDP whose leaders thought the sack of Bamanga Tukur as PDP would end its crisis.So far the crisis apparently lingers.
In fact reports said the new chairman party,Adamu Muazu has been holding meetings with senators and reps to avert further depletion of the party.

No tags for this post.