Traffic Congestion: FCT Commences Installation Of Control Room Project

Bala FCT MinisterIn order to enhance traffic management and security of commuters in the Federal Capital City, the FCT Administration has commenced the installation of Control Room project.
The FCT Minister, Senator Bala Abdulkadir Mohammed CON, gave this hint at the weekend after meeting with some senior officials of the FCT Transportation Secretariat in his office at Area 11, Garki I District, Abuja.
The Minister said that the project, which is in tune with the Transformation Agenda of President Goodluck Jonathan and the Transportation Master Plan of the Federal Capital Territory, is 65 percent completed.
Senator Mohammed reiterated that his Administration would do everything possible to tackle headlong all traffic problems in the Federal Capital City, Abuja.
The Minister revealed that the FCT Administration has upgraded a total of 28 out of the 74 existing traffic light installations from the old technology of incandescent light to Light Emitting Diode (LED) with Solar back-up to drastically reduce traffic light problems associated with those powered by conventional electricity supply.
According to him, twenty additional new intersections have been earmarked for traffic light installation before the end of the year 2014; while 1,200 additional road traffic signs have been installed of various types and sizes.
He stated that more roads have been marked in the city and they include Tafawa Balewa Way; Lome Crescent Street; F.O.Williams Street; Babangida Aliyu Street; Nouchott Street; Kashim Ibrahim Way; Sabo Ago Way; Deji Omotade Street; Wada Aliyu Street as well as Ahmadu Bello Way.
Senator Mohammed disclosed that due to Biometric data capture of drivers earlier embarked upon by his Administration, issues of identification, safety and security is today better addressed.
The Minister thus, expressed the commitment of his Administration to provide sufficient number of High Capacity Buses for scheduled bus transit services in and around the 8,000 square kilometers of the Federal Capital Territory.
He emphasized that the Administration has so far granted licenses to seven companies under its Operators License Scheme namely AUMTCO, FABREM, AUTOSTAR, NURTW, RTEIN, SECDA, TUC; while PAT and PRINTFIELD are yet to be licensed.
These companies under the Operators License Scheme on daily basis deploy an average of 216 high capacity buses and 4,250 taxis, Senator Mohammed added.

No tags for this post.