Sultan,Onaiyekan Lose Out as European Union Wins 2012 Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Committee today dashed the hopes of most Nigerians as it named the European Union as the winner of the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize.

The 27 member EU was recognized for its advancement of peace,democracy ,others on the continent.

Many Nigerians had hoped that Archbishop John Olorunfemi Onaiyekan, the Catholic archbishop of Abuja and Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, the 20th Sultan of Sokoto and the president general of National Supreme Council of Islamic Affairs would clinch the award.But today’s announcement put an end to all that.But many consider it quite inspiring that leaders of the two religions were nominated for the Nobel peace prize at time Nigeria is roiling under ethno-religious tensions.

In recent past prominent Africans   like Archbishop Desmond Tutu, Nelson Mandela, Frederick de Klerk and President Ellen Sirleaf of Liberia have received this world’s most prestigious  peace award.

Related Story:Nobel Peace Prize awarded to European Union-BBC

No tags for this post.