Sokoto Assembly receives nominees as replacement for principal offices

The Sokoto State House of Assembly on received letters of nomination of Principal from both Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and All progressives (APC), following the defection of 19 members from the APC.

On Aug. 1, 18 members of the assembly defected PDP and another member joined them on Oct. 17.

Presenting the letters during plenary, Speaker Salihu Maidaji said: “I have received letters of replacement and nomination of the Assembly principal from both PDP and All Progressive (APC) in the state.

“The PDP hereby forward the names of Habibu Modachi (PDP Isa) and Atiku Liman (PDP Silame) replace former Majority Whip and Majority Whip respectively.

“The APC forwarded the names of Kabiru Kware (APC- Kware) and Aminu Bodai (APC- Dange-Shuni) be nominated as Minority leader and Minority leader, respectively.

Other nominations APC were Sidi (APC- Gwadabawa) and Murtala Maigona (APC- ) as Minority Whip and Minority Whip respectively,” he said.

The Sokoto state House of Assembly has 30 members comprising 19 from PDP and 11 from APC. (NAN)