Senate President reconstitutes leadership of Committees

President the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, has reconstituted the and membership some standing and special committees the Senate.

Lawan the announcement moments before the upper chamber adjourned plenary. 

Those to serve as Chairmen include Senator Sahabi Alhaji Ya’u – Committee on National Population and National Identity; Senator Adetokunbo Abiru – Committee on Industry; Senator Saidu Alkali – Committee on Trade and Investments; Senator Kabiru Barkiya – Committee on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs. 

Those selected to Vice-Chairmanship and Membership positions are Senator Seriake Dickson – Committee on Interior; and Member, Committee on Appropriations; Senator Biodun Olujimi – Member, Committee on Appropriations; Senator Tolu Odebiyi – Vice Chairman, Committee on Marine Transport; Senator Lekan Mustapha – Vice Chairman, INEC; Senator Jarigbe Agom Jarigbe – Vice Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs.

Others are Senator Moses Cleopas – Vice Chairman, National Planning and Economic Affairs; Senator Frank Ibezim Chukwuma – Vice Chairman, Committee on Industry; Senator Nora Ladi Daduut – Vice Chairman, Committee on Culture and Tourism; and Senator Degi-Biobarakuma Eremieyo Degi – Member, Committee on Appropriation.

The President, Ahmad Lawan, in his remarks urged the new Chairmen and Vice Chairmen to their duties immediately, particularly with work on the budget. 

“We expect that these Chairmen and Vice Chairman would start their work immediately, especially to work on the budget defense.

“We wish them like all us, the best tenure and steady hands on their work”, Lawan said.