Replicate Lagos’ seamless political transition nationwide, Ekwunife tells APC

The Chairman of Lagos State All Progressives Congress (APC) Election
Organizing Committee, Senator Uche Ekwunife on Saturday called on the APC-led federal government replicate across the country the infrastructural renewal as well as the political stability enjoyed in Lagos state.

Speaking at the congress of the party held at the party’s secretariat on Acme , Ikeja, Ekwunife commended the seamless political transition and the peaceful conduct of members of the party throughout the congress, saying such political maturity was rare in the country.

“We are very glad be here; we have been here since yesterday and we have been interacting with members of the State Exco and other party leaders. We also had stakeholders meeting yesterday and we stand say Lagos State is politically stable. Not only that we are here conduct the congress, we are going to suggest to the party that other states should take Lagos State as a model.

“Without having political stability, you can’t have massive
anywhere. So, when you are outside Lagos and you are
hearing that Lagos is performing; Lagos is growing; Lagos is expanding
in terms of , it is just about political stability. And it
is only in Lagos that you see a chairman of a political party that
been chairman for the past years and there is so much joy in him handing over.

“So, Lagos State is not just having smooth transition in governance,
it is also having smooth transition in the political party which is rare
anywhere in the states,” Ekwunife said while commending the outgoing Chairman, Chief Henry Ajomale for his commitment, zeal and trust in the party.

The congress, which was attended by the State Governor, Mr Akinwunmi
Ambode; Deputy Governor, Dr Idiat Adebule; Secretary the State
Government, Mr Tunji Bello, others, produced Alhaji Tunde Balogun as the new Chairman of the party.

Other key state officials elected unanimously are State Deputy Chairman, Chief Sunday Ajose; Vice Chairman (West), Funsho Olugunde; Vice Chairman (East), Ashipa Olusanya; Vice Chairman (Central), Akeem Bamgbola; State Secretary, Dr Wale Ahmed; Publicity Secretary, Joe Igbokwe, others.

In his acceptance speech, the new Chairman (Balogun) commended the APC National Leader, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Governor Ambode for the political stability and development of the State.

“I like to appreciate the diligent, pragmatic and visionary Governor
of Nigeria, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode. Governor Ambode is blessed with an abundant physical energy. Apart from his clear vision of what he
wants, the Governor goes about executing his programmes and projects
with zeal and competence and that is why you find him in Surulere today;
Ikeja tomorrow and like that everywhere,” Balogun said.

While commending members of the party for the confidence reposed in him, Balogun assured that the new executive, under his watch, would take the party to greater heights.

party chieftains that graced the congress are Speaker, Lagos State House of , Rt. Hon Mudashiru Obasa; Senators Oluremi Tinubu, Gbenga Ashafa, Solomon Adeola, Ganiyu Solomon, Musiliu Obanikoro; former Lagos State House of Speaker, Adeyemi Ikuforiji; APC South West Women Leader, Chief Kemi Nelson; Chief Lanre Razak; Senior Special Assistant to the President Foreign Affairs and Diaspora, Abike Dabiri-Erewa.

Other newly elected are Femi Said, Deputy Secretary; Olasunbo Ajose, Treasurer; Joanna Asebobuyi, Deputy Treasurer; Oluyinka Osinubi, Financial Secretary; Bola Olajubi, Assistant Financial Secretary; Abiodun Salami, Assistant Publicity Secretary; Ademola Sadiq, Legal Adviser; Toke Benson, Assistant Legal Adviser; Ramota Bankole, Welfare Secretary; R. O Olorunfemi, Assistant Welfare Secretary; Abdullahi Enilolobo, Organising Secretary; Muftai Kadiku, Assistant Organising Secretary; Wale Aribiyi, Auditor; and Ismaila Azeez, Assistant Auditor.

Others are Jumoke Okoya Thomas, Women Leader; Kehinde Babalola,
Assistant Women Leader; Kofoworola Ajayi, Senatorial Women Leader
(West); Yeye Gbadebo, Senatorial Women Leader (East); Fadekemi
Otitonaiye, Senatorial Women Leader (Central); Tayo Sanya-Olu, Youth
Leader; Busola Akeredolu, Assistant Youth Leader; Lukmon Jimoh,
Senatorial Youth Leader (West); Bashiru Adekoya, Senatorial Youth Leader (East); Hameed Olanrewaju, Senatorial Youth Leader (Central); Aregbe Idris, Youth Organising Secretary; Abu Akilapa, Ex-officio I; Obiangeli Onu, Ex-officio II; Ibrahim Patako, Ex-officio III; Bode Oyedele, Ex-officio IV; and Israel Akiode, physically-challenged.