PRP, Fresh Party, 26 Others Deregistered in INEC’s Night of the Long Knives

By Danlami Nmodu
Those who have doubts about the resolve of Professor Attahiru Jega -led Independent National Electoral Commission ,INEC to exercise enormous powers  in the run up to the 2015 general elections would now think twice as the commission has  deregistered 28 political parties.

The commission in what might be rightly called Thurday Night of the Long Knives  delisted led Peoples Redemption Party,PRP ,Chris Okotie -led Fresh ,FDP and others.Musa is the of the Conference of Nigerian Political Parties, CNPP .

INEC said it acted within the provisions of the 1999 Constitution and the Electoral Act as respectively amended .

Read the full lists of parties deregistered below:

1. African Liberation Party (ALP)
2. Action Party of Nigeria (APN)
3. African Political System (APS)
4. Nigeria Progressive Party (BNPP)
5. Congress for Democratic (CDC)
6. Community Party of Nigeria (CPN)
7. Democratic Peoples Alliance (DPA)
8. Party of Nigeria (FPN)
9. Fresh (FDP)
10. Hope (HDP)
11. Justice Party (JP)
12. Liberal Democratic Party of Nigeria (LDPN)
13. Movement for Democracy and Justice (MDJ)
14. Movement Restoration and Defence of Democracy (MRDD)
15. Nigeria Advanced Party (NAP)
16. New Democrats (ND)
17. National Majority Democratic Party (NMDP)
18. National Movement of Progressive Party (NMPP)
19. National Reformation Party (NRP)
20. National Solidarity Democratic Party (NSDP)
21. Progressive Action Congress (PAC)
22. Peoples Mandate Party (PMP)
23. Peoples Progressive Party (PPP)
24. Peoples Redemption Party (PRP)
25. People’s Salvation Party (PSP)
26. Republican Party of Nigeria (RPN)
27. United National Party for Development (UNPD)
28. United Nigeria Peoples Party (UNPP)

No tags for this post.