Presidential Amnesty Office Suspends Six Officials Over Alleged Fraud

Share the news

Six officials in the Peace Building and Conflict Resolution Unit of the Presidential Amnesty Office have been suspended over allegations of fraudulent dealings in the documentation of Phase Two beneficiaries of the amnesty programme.

The Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta/Chairman, Presidential Amnesty Programme, Hon. Kingsley Kuku, gave the directive on Wednesday, September 26, following confessional statements by one Aso Tambo and some other Phase Two leaders of the former Niger Delta agitators.

The affected officials are Marshal Konoun, Kennedy West, Peter Ajube, Beggi Erepade, Okuba Wenikefe and Tony Amende.

The office alongside security agencies have commenced investigation into allegations that officials of the unit colluded with Tambo and others to doctor allotted slots and the account details of beneficiaries.

On Tuesday, September 25, no fewer than 57 of the former agitators were detained by security agencies in Abuja following incessant harassment and intimidation of officials of the Amnesty Office, including the chairman, Hon. Kuku.

At a meeting with officials of the office in Abuja, the leaders of the ex-agitators threatened to disrupt social and economic activities in sensitive governmental places in Abuja if their request to have the Transition Safety Allowance (TSA) proposed for 6,166 persons enrolled in the second phase of the amnesty programme was not immediately paid out directly to them and not to all the enrolled persons as enshrined in the 2012 budget.


Share the news
No tags for this post.