PDP wins Aninri/Awgu/Oji River Federal Constituency in Enugu

 The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Mr Toby Okechukwu of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) winner of the Aninri/Awgu/Oji River Federal Constituency in Enugu State.

Prof Daniel Nwachukwu, Returning Officer and Dean, Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences, University of Nigeria, Nsukka (UNN) announced the result in Awgu on Sunday.

Nwachukwu disclosed that Okechukwu polled 50,173 votes to win the election while the All Progressives Congress (APC) scored 8,354 votes and the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) came third with 3,854 votes.

According to him, Okechukwu candidate of the PDP, having scored the highest votes cast is hereby declared winner and returned as the winner of the election.

Okechukwu, who is also the current Chairman of the Works Committee, Federal House of Representatives, said he would place the people first for giving him his third mandate.

He also reposed faith in the election conducted by INEC as being the most peaceful and credible so far and said he accepted the result in good faith.

The lawmaker also thanked INEC staff and all the security agencies for their efforts in ensuring a free and fair election in the state. (NAN)

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply