Okowa sends names of nominees for SJSC to state assembly for confirmation

Gov. Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta has forwarded names of two nominees for appointment as members of the State Judicial Service Commission (SJSC) to the House of Assembly for approval.

The names of the nominees, Mr Joseph Ojobu and Chief James Obeuwou, are contained in a letter read by the Speaker of the State House of Assembly, Chief Sheriff Oborevwori, during plenary of the Assembly on Tuesday in Asaba.

According to Okowa, the request is in line with Section 5 of the Law establishing the commission in 1999 as amended and Section 197 sub section 3 of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria 1999 as amended.

He stated that the nomination was as a result of two vacancies that arose in the composition of the commission by reason of the fact that two members had served out their terms in office.

The Majority Leader  of the Assembly, Mr Tim Owhefere, moved a motion for the house to receive the letter for further consideration.

The motion, seconded by Mr Emeka Nwaobi, the member representing Aniocha North constituency, was unanimously adopted by the assembly when put to voice vote by the speaker.

Oborevwori directed the nominees to submit 35 copies of their curriculum vitae to the office of the Clerk on or before Monday and to appear for screening on Tuesday.

The House adjourned plenary to Wednesday. (NAN)

Spread the story

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.