Home Sport NSDFI names Toblow Athletics head coach for Ondo

NSDFI names Toblow Athletics head coach for Ondo


Tobias Igwe (Toblow) has been named as the Head Coach of the National Athletics Development Centre in Ondo State. The project which is being delivered in conjunction with the Athletics Federation of Nigeria (AFN).

Coach Toblow was born 7th June 1953 and a former 800m, 1500m and 3,000 steeplechase champion as an athlete.

As a coach, Toblow had his NIS grades III (1980), Grade II (1986), Olympic solidarity course (1986), IAAF level 1 course (1993) and advanced athletic coaching course in sprints and throws (1985).

Some of his coaching successes include the 1st World junior championships in Athens in 1986 with 2 gold, I silver and I bronze; Commonwealth Games in Auckland (1990), Barcelona Olympics (1992) where his women 4x100m won Nigeria’s first Olympic medal and the 4x100m won silver.

In Athens 20014 he piloted the bronze medal in 4x400m. He coached at the Commonwealth Games in 2002, 2010.

Some of the star athletes coach Toblow has produced in the past include Chief Mary Onyali, Osmaond and Davidson Ezinwa, Tony Osheku, Philip George, Yusuf Alli, Henry Amike, Sunday Uti, Tina Iheagwam, Clement Chukwu, Beatrice Utondu, Emma Okoli, Michael Egbeaso, Henrietta Ajaegbu, Eugene Ifediora and Uche Emedolu amongst others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here