NJC recommends appointment of 64 judges

The National Judicial Council (NJC) has recommended the appointment of 64 judges to their respective state governors for appointment as Judicial Officers as part of concerted efforts to beef up delivery in the country.

This is contained in a statement by

NJC Director of Information, Mr Soji Oye, on in Abuja.

Those recommended are Justices Ozoemena Afojulu as Chief Judge of Enugu State, Nathan Musa as Chief Judge of Adamawa, Kadi   Kigera as Grand Kadi, Sharia Court of Appeal for Niger State and Kadi  Girei as Grand Khadi of Adamawa.

Others are Justices Shiyanbola Akanbi as President, Customary Court of Appeal,  Eneji Odey, as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Rivers and Wajilda Peter as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Adamawa , O. I. Nwamoh as President, Customary Court of Appeal, and Blessing Lyop Dalyop as President, Customary Court of Appeal, Pleateau.

The NJC said five others recommended as judges for the Sokoto state court are Sanusi Shehu, Mu’awiya Mahmud, Abubakar Zaki, Mohammad Sambo and Maryam Muhammad.

For Nasarawa State Courts are Isa  Kana, Ali  Changbo, Abdullahi Shama and Solomon Ayenajeh.

For the State Court are Justices Adeyemi Adewole and Bello Titilayo while the for are Lockie  Benimo, Zuofa Patience, Simon  Amaduobogha and Christine Kombo-Enegesi.

The Council recommended also recommended Justices Daniel Kulo, Rita  Marshall, Odibu Ekaya and Obin  Egwu for Rivers Court.

The 14 Judges recommended for Lagos are Okunuga  Adeyemi,  Adeyemi Olayinka, Oshin   Olufolasade,  Odusanya Oluwatoyin Atinuk  and  Ipaye-Nwachukwu.

The rest are Babatunde  Kalaro, Awope Jadesola, Akinkunmi Idowu, Oresanya Ayodeji, Oshodi Iyabode, Ijelu IOlalekan,

Balogun  Muyibat, and Mathias Oluwole Dawodu.

Rivers has Justices Popnen  Sunday, Daketima  Kio, Nsirim Amanda and Chinelo  Odili

Similarly, Ekiti has Justices Apuabi  Ariyibi,  Blessing  Ajileye, Olalekan  Olatawura and Oyinkansola  Oluboyede.

Two Kadis recommended for Sharia Court of Appeal in Sokoto are Buhari Yahaya and Umar Kebbe while Katsina State has Kabir  Bello.

The NJC said has Justices Lamin and Nasiru  Zargina  and Awada Mgbada for Ebonyi.

Three Judges were recommended for state Customary Court of Appeal.

They are Olukemi  Osisanya, Odugbesan Adebiyi and Akinsinde Philip.

Those appointed for the Cross River state Customary Court of Appeal are  Justices Obo Anthony, BItitim Igob, Eunice  Dada and Ankpor Arong.

The NJC said that all the recommended candidates are expected to be sworn-in after approval of the NJC recommendations by their respective state governors and the respective State Houses of Assembly as the case may be. (NAN)