NJC Constitutes Panels To Probe 2 Chief Judges, 13 Others

Share the news

The National Judicial Council, under the Chairmanship of the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Mr. Justice Walter Nkanu Samuel Onnoghen, GCON, at its 83rd Meeting constituted 15 Committees to investigate various allegations in the Petitions written against 15 Judicial Officers, including two Chief Judges.

According to a statement by NJC Spokesman, Mr Soji Oye, the Council took the decision after considering the Reports of the two Preliminary Complaints Assessment Committees, on 46 Petitions written against Judicial Officers in the Federal and State Judiciaries.

“It dismissed a total number of 31 petitions, 29 of which it found unmeritorious, and the remaining 2 written against Hon. Mr. Justice J. T. Tsoho of the Federal High Court and Hon. Mr. Justice O. O. Akeredolu, Acting Chief Judge of Ondo State were withdrawn at the instance of the petitioners. Al-Sagr National Insurance Company who wrote against Hon. Mr. Justice Tsoho withdrew his petition since the Hon. Judge had delivered the Ruling in his case. Chief Raheem A. Badmus who wrote against Hon. Justice Akeredolu also voluntarily withdrew his petition for personal reasons.

“Council treated the two petitions as withdrawn, since it did not find anything in them sufficiently serious for further consideration as stipulated in Regulation 9 (1) of the Judicial Discipline Regulations.
“Council considered and found worthy of further investigation, the petition written by Azi A. Phillip on behalf of All Farmers Association of Nigeria (AFAN), Plateau State Chapter, accusing Hon. Justice P. D. Damulak, the immediate past Chief Judge of Plateau State of bias, for failure to make his judgment in Suit No. PLD/J/236/16 delivered on 4th November, 2016 available to him till the time he wrote the petition.

Oye added that “Council however decided not to constitute an Investigative Committee to look into the matter, because the Hon. Chief Judge had already retired from service and therefore no longer in the employment of the National Judicial Council.

“It also considered and dismissed petitions written against two other Judicial Officers for lack of merit.The Judges are:Hon. Justice Mr. L. T. C. Eruba – High Court of Justice, Abia State; and Hon. Grand Kadi Abdullahi Waiya – Sharia’h Court of Appeal, Kano State.

“It also decided to issue two letters of advice to Hon. Mr. Justice M. A. Dada of the Lagos State High Court of Justice and Hon. Mr. Justice Chukwudi Charles Okaa of the Anambra State High Court for violation of extant laws in the course of their judicial duties based on petition written against their Lordships by Dayo Adamolekun, Esq. & Ridwanulah Olanite, Esq. and Reverend F. U. Ekavhiare & Associates respectively.

“Council agreed to report Adesina Ogunlana, Esq., to the Legal Practitioners Disciplinary Committee (L.P.D.C.) for misconduct, for the use of uncouth language in a petition written to the National Judicial Council against Hon. Justice O. O. Atilade, the immediate past Chief Judge of Lagos State.

” Council welcomed as good development, a letter from Zamfara State Government approving the recommendation of the National Judicial Council for the compulsory removal of Hon. Mr. Justice Musa Ibrahim Anka from office for allegedly receiving a bribe of Two Hundred Thousand Naira (N200, 000) from one Zubairu Abdumalik in order to deliver judgement in his favour.
“The recommendation was made to the Zamfara State Government by Council in 2011.”


Share the news