Niger primaries: Bello, Nasko emerge APC, PDP guber flag-bearers

By Tina George, Minna

A rematch of the 2015 governorship elections in Niger state seem to be in the replay as the two contenders from the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) have emerged again as the contenders in the various parties for the 2019 elections.

While Governor Abubakar Sani Bello is the sole candidate of the APC in the state, Honorable Umar Mohammed Nasko who was also the PDP governorship candidate has also emerged as the winner of the PDP governorship primaries held on Sunday.
Nasko who got 1,972 votes defeated his closest contender, former envoy to South Africa, Ambassador Ahmed Musa Ibeto.
Five aspirants contended in the primaries which was adjudged as free, fair and transparent by the aspirants.

At the end of the primaries, Ambassador Ahmed Musa Ibeto got 516 votes, Alhaji Mu’azu Hannafi Sudan got 157 votes, Aminu Mohammed Baka got 110 votes while Honorable Umar Ahmed got 24 votes with Umar Nasko got 1,972 votes.
The Electoral officer of the PDP Primaries, Baraka Sani declared Nasko as the certified candidate after counting the votes.
Speaking to newsmen after his declaration as the PDP governorship flag-bearer, Umar Nasko said he will wrest power from the APC in the 2019 elections assuring that he will work towards uniting the party in order to form a formidable front to the opposition in the 2019 election.
Meanwhile, Governor Abubakar Sani Bello was the sole governorship candidate of the APC and was endorsed wholeheartedly in the direct primaries held across the 274 wards in the state.