NHRC’s boss, ex-NBA Secretary, 70 others become SAN

The Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee, (LPPC), has elevated 72 lawyers the rank of Senior Advocate of Nigeria, (SAN).

The LPPC statement by the Acting Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Hajo Sarki Bello, said it took the decision at its 149th plenary session that held on Oct. 21.

The committee disclosed that the Chief of Nigeria, (CJN), Muhammad swear-in the new SANs on Dec. 8 at the Supreme Court premises.The committee said it notified prospective applicants that application for the 2022 exercise not until a date be announced in January.

According the LPPC,a sub-committee has been set review the 2018 guidelines for the award of SAN effective from the 2034 application year.Successful lawyers who made the 2021 list include the Executive Secretary of the National Human Commission, Mr Tony Ojukwu, a former Secretary General of the Nigerian Bar Association, (NBA),  Mr Emeka Obegolu, and seven professors drawn from the academia.

Others are; George Audu Anuga, Simon  Lough, Eko  Eko, Ayo Olorunfemi, Reuben Atabo, John  Adele, Shaibu Aruwa, Eyitayo  Fatogun, Jacob Usman, Tajudeen Oladoja, Salman Ayinla, Adeola Omotunde, Mathew  Bukka, Mohammed Ndayako, Hassan El-Yakub and Ishaq Hussaini among others.

Those from the academic are; Bankole Sodipo, Prof. Christian Wigwe, Prof. Ajagbe Oyewo, Prof. Rasheed  Ijaodola, Prof. Oluyinka Omorogbe, Dr Josephine  Agbonika, Dr Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof. Edoba  Omoregie and Prof. Abiola Sanni(NAN)