Lagos APC: Any other congress, tea party — Sanwo-Olu

Gov. Babajide Sanwo- on Saturday said that any other All Progressives Congress (APC) state congress in Lagos State apart from the one held at Mobolaji Johnson Arena, remained a tea party.

Sanwo- said this speaking with newsmen after the election of the party’s new state in Lagos, in reaction to the reports of parallel congresses by some aggrieved within the party.

“I am not aware of any other congress. Maybe because of your work, you are able to see those are engaging in a tea party,” he said.

Earlier in his address, Sanwo- described the new leadership of the party as tested and trusted to move the party to an enviable level.

”I am convinced and I am certain that the leadership is appropriate. They are square pegs in square holes, and the man that will be leading them is trusted, tested at the national assembly level, the state executive level and as a community leader.

”He has done several things for his people and is now being called to come and lead the state in a higher level, he has been in politics for over 25 years and I know that he will do a great job,” he added.

Sanwo-Olu, described the process as fairest, simplest and noncontroversial, commended the outgone led by Alhaji Tunde Balogun for leaving big shoes behind.

He expressed satisfaction with the representation of women in the new state executives, adding that the team would take the party to an enviable height at the national level.

Sanwo- said that the new would have the task of bringing more people to the party through more engagement.

The governor extolled the National Leader of APC, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, for his concern for a smooth and peaceful congress.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports, however, that there were reports of parallel congresses by some aggrieved held at different locations in Lagos on Saturday.

The Lagos4lagos Movement, an aggrieved group within Lagos led by Olajide Adediran, elected its Deputy Apex Leader, Sunday Ajayi, as the state chairman at Lagos Airport Hotel, Ikeja.

NAN reports that at Mobolaji Johnson Arena, Mr Cornelius Ojelabi emerged the Chairman of the newly elected Lagos State Executive Council with Mr Olanrewaju Maiyegun as the deputy chairman.

Others are: Sunmi Odesanya (State Secretary), Biodun Aigbe (State Treasurer), Doyin Banjo (State Financial Secretary), Adewale Ayodele (State Organising Secretary), Oluseye Oladejo (State Publicity Secretary).

Others include: Kehinde Adeniyi (State Welfare Secretary), Doyin Pikudan(State Auditor), Jumoke Okoya-Thomas (State Woman Leader),Dr Muritala Seriki (State Youth Leader) among others. (NAN)