Jonathan Sets Up Committees On Boko Haram , Other Security Challenges

Boko_Haram_leader__Abubakar_Shekau_916127537_288923525President Goodluck Jonathan has named a 26-member committee described as a “Presidential Committee to constructively engage key members of Boko Haram and define a comprehensive and workable framework for resolving the crisis of insecurity in the country.”

The Boko Haram committee which has Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, minister of special duties as with  Human Rights Activist ,Shehu Sani and Hajia Najaatu Mohammed as members among others.

Read the official statement containing the full list of members below:

Following the consideration yesterday by the National Security Council of the report of the technical committee it set up to review modalities for addressing security challenges in the North, President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the constitution of a Presidential Committee to constructively engage key members of Boko Haram and define a comprehensive and workable framework for resolving the crisis of insecurity in the country.

The Committee’s terms of reference will include developing a framework for the granting of amnesty; setting up of a framework through which disarmament could take place within a 60-day time frame; the development of a comprehensive victims’ support programme, and the development of mechanisms to address the underlying causes of insurgencies will help to future occurrences.

President Jonathan has also approved the constitution of a Federal Government committee on the proliferation of small arms and light weapons in keeping with his pledge Nigeria will work with the United Nations and other countries to the worrisome proliferation of small arms and light weapons, and their use in creating insecurity and instability in Nigeria and other developing nations.

The composition of the two committees is as follows:


1. Kabiru Tanimu Turaki, Minister of Special Duties -

2. Sheik Ahmed Lemu – Member

3. Dr. Hakeem Baba Ahmed- Member

4. Col. Musa Shehu, (rtd.) – Member

5. Sheik Abubakar Tureta – Member

6. Dr.Datti Ahmed – Member

7. Senator Sodangi Abubakar -Member

8. Senator Ahmed Makarfi – Member

9. Hon. Mohammed Bello Matawalle – Member

10. Amb. Zakari Ibrahim – Member

11. Comrade ShehuSani – Member

12. Hajiya Naja’atu Mohammed – Member

13. Malam Adamu S. Ladan – Member

14. Dr. Joseph Golwa -Member

15. AVM A. I. Shehu – Member

16. Mr. R. I. Nkemdirim -Member

17. DIG P. I. Leha -Member

18. Prof. Nur Alkali – Member

19. Malam Salihu Abubakar – Member

20. Alhaji Abubakar Sani Lugga – Member

21. Barrister Ibrahim Tahir – Member

22. Brig-Gen. Ibrahim Sabo – Member

23. Amb. Baba Ahmed Jidda – Member

24. Capt. Bilal Bulama,Rtd. -Member

25. Prof. Bolaji Akinyemi – Member

26. Representative of OSGF – Secretary


1. Amb. Emmanuel Imohe -()

2. Amb. Martin I. Uhomoibhi -Member

3. Amb. T. D. Hart -Member

4. Amb.Ghali Umar -Member

5. Amb. B.G. Wakil – Member

6. Mr. Opelusi Olureti -Member

7. Representative of Ministry of Interior – Member

8. Representative of NSA – Member

9.Representative of DG (SSS) – Member

10.Representative of – Member

11.Representative of Federal Ministry of Justice – Member

12.Representative of Ministry of Defence -Member

13.Representative of DIA -Member

14.Representative of the Nigeria Police Force – Member

15.Representative of the Nigerian Customs Service – Member

16.Representative of OSGF – Member

17.Director, International Organisations Dept (MFA) – Secretary

Both committees will be formally inaugurated by President Jonathan at 10 am , April 24, 2013 at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Reuben Abati

Special Adviser to the President

(Media & Publicity)

April 17, 2013

No tags for this post.