Jonathan Reconstitutes PACP And Task Force On Power

By Ewache Ajefu- Editor

Determined to  give renewed impetus to administration’s drive to  significantly improve power supply across the nation, President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan Wednesday recomposed the Presidential Action Committee Power and the Presidential Task Force Power, the two bodies charged with responsibility for overseeing the implementation of Federal Government’s agenda for power sector reforms.

President Jonathan retains the chairmanship of the recomposed Presidential Action Committee Power (PACP) which was established in June 2010 to provide leadership and guidance for the rapid development of Nigeria’s power sector and determine the general policy direction and strategic  of reforms in the sector.

Vice President Mohammed Namadi Sambo is the deputy Chairman of the Committee while its members include the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the of Service, the to the President, the Minister of Justice and Attorney-General of the Federation, the Coordinating Minister for the Economy and Minister of Finance, the Minister of Labour and Productivity, the Minister of Power, the Minister of State for Power and the Minister of Petroleum Resources.
members are the Minister of National Planning, the Chief Economic Adviser to the President, the Special Adviser to the President (Performance Monitoring & Evaluation), the Director-General – Bureau of Public Enterprises, the Director-General – Bureau of Public Procurement, the Group Managing Director of the NNPC, the Chairman of the Nigeria Electricity Regulatory Commission and  the Chairman of the Presidential Task Force Power.
The Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Power will serve as Secretary of the PACP.
Engineer Reynold Dagogo-Jack of the National Integrated Power Project (NIPP) is to assume the chairmanship of the Presidential Task Force on Power which has the duty of developing and driving the Federal Government’s action plan for the  power sector as well as articulating  a proper plan of action for implementation in the areas of power generation, transmission and distribution.
members of the recomposed task force are the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Power, the Chief Executive Officer – Transmission of Nigeria, the Managing Director, Niger Delta Power Holding , the Chief Executive Officer, Nigerian Gas , the Chief Executive Officer, Geregu Generation Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Ughelli Generation Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Eko Distribution Company, the Chief Executive Offcier, Abuja Distribution Company, the Chief Executive Officer, Nigeria Bulk Electricity Company, the Chief Executive Officer of the Gas Aggregation Company of Nigeria and  Mr. Evaristus Mogbo.
The Nigeria Infrastructure Advisory Fund will serve as Consultants to the Task Force while an officer of Directorate rank in the Federal Ministry of Power designated by the Permanent Secretary will serve as Secretary to the recomposed task force.

No tags for this post.