Jonathan Names Adenuga, Dangote,Agbakoba, Others in Committee To Raise Funds For Flood Victims

President Jonathan

President Goodluck Jonathan has approved the establishment of a National Committee onFlood Relief and Rehabilitation to raise funds in support of Government’s efforts to provide urgent relief for victims of recent floods across the country.

The composition of the Committee is as follows:

  1. Alhaji Aliko Dangote                                              –           Co-Chairman
  2. Mr.  Olisa Agbakoba                                              –           Co-Chairman
  3. Dr.  Mike Adenuga Jnr.                                         –          Chief Fund Mobilizer
  4. Alhaji Karami Isiaku Rabiu                                   –           Member
  5. Alhaji Mohammed Indimi                                    –           Member
  6. Ngo Hannatu Cholum                                           –           Member
  7. Mrs. Folorunsho Alakija                                       –           Member
  8. Prof. Dora Akunyili                                                –           Member
  9. Mr. Tony Elumelu                                                  –           Member
  10.  Secretary-General,  Nigerian Red Cross          –           Member
  11.  Representative of  C.A.N.                                    –           Member
  12.  Representative of  N.S.C.I.A.                              –           Member
  13.  Representative of the UNDP                              –           Member
  14.  Representative of the European Union          –           Member
  15.  Representative of DFID                                       –           Member
  16.  Representative of USAID                                                –           Member
  17.  Perm. Sec., Fed. Ministry of Environment     –           Member
  18.  Perm. Sec., Fed. Min. of Water Resources    –           Member
  19. Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Works            –           Member
  20.  Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Agriculture  –           Member
  21.  Perm. Sec. Federal Ministry of Health                        –           Member
  22.  Perm. Sec., Federal Ministry of Finance                                 –           Member
  23. Perm.  Sec., Fed. Ministry of National Planning                    –           Member
  24.  Director-General, NEMA                                                             –           Member
  25.  Ag. Commissioner, National  Commission  for Refugees    –           Member
  26.  Perm.  Sec., Ecological Funds Office                                        –           Member
  27.  Chairman, Senate Committee on Special Duties                  –           Member
  28.  Chairman, House Committee on Environment                     –           Member
  29.  Rep.,  Nigerian Union of Journalists                                         –           Member
  30.  Rep.,  National Council of Women’s Societies                       –           Member
  31.  Mr. Tunde Lemo, (Representing the CBN)                             –           Member
  32.  Ms. Fatima Wali                                                                             –           Member
  33.  Mr. Frank Nweke Jnr.                                                                  –           Member
  34.  Senator Florence Ita-Giwa                                                         –           Member

A statement by Reuben Abati, the presidential spokesman said the Committee has been given the mandate to raise funds to complement government’s resources for the provision of relief to flood victims across the country and the post-impact rehabilitation of affected persons and communities.

The Committee which is also expected to advise government on the judicious utilization of funds raised, has been authorized by President Jonathan to co-opt any other persons or organizations that it may find useful in carrying out its assignment.

The Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation will provide a secretariat for the Committee.It has been given one year to conclude its task.

The list of the committee  members came shortly after the president addressed the nation on the flood.He classified the flood ravaged states into 4 categories A,B,C and D where each state in every category  will receive N500m, N400m ,N300m and  N250m  respectively from the FG.Relief agencies will also be supported with funds, the president announced.

President Jonathan
President Jonathan