Jonathan Inaugurates ICRC Board,Tasks NASENI

President-Goodluck-jonathan 600President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan has inaugurated the Governing Board of the Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (ICRC), with a charge to Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) to ensure fruitful partnership with the private sector to address infrastructural deficit.

The ceremony conducted by the Vice President, Arc Mohammed Namadi Sambo on behalf of the President was held at the State House, Abuja on Tuesday.

The President at the event said “as a nation, we must in every respect, manifest our capability for the practical transformation of our country, through mutually beneficial partnerships. MDAs must now show a greater commitment to creative productive and fruitful partnerships with the private sector.”

He tasked the board under the chairmanship of former Senate President, Senator Ken Nnamani to build on the achievements of the pioneer board, headed by former head of the Interim National Government, Chief Ernest Shonekan.

President Jonathan further urged them to accelerate on the delivery of Public Private Partnership (PPP) projects, particularly the 19 recently identified by the Commission, which included the construction of the 2nd Niger Bridge, the development of deep sea ports and concession of the railway lines, stressing the need to “achieve seamless financial closure as soon as possible”, adding that “That is what the people expect and this is what the Government must deliver.”

According to the President, “The ICRC has a leading role to play in driving the PPP programme, noting that “We have no doubt that members of the Governing Board will pursue this mandate with commitment and patriotism to achieve prompt success.”

He eulogised the pioneer board, for ensuring that the Commission was placed on solid footing by drafting the National Policy on PPP approved by the Federal Executive Council, and also for wining laurels for the country, saying “It is also gratifying to recall that Nigeria, 2010, won the Africa Investor Award in South Africa and the 2010 Public Private Partnership Award of the Commonwealth Business Council, both bestowed on Nigeria in recognition of our quick and articulated progress.”

In his remarks the Chairman of the Board, Senator Ken Namadi observed that the relevance of the Commission to addressing the infrastructural deficit in the country could not be over emphasised, the pledged on behalf of other members of the board that they would not let the country down.

The reconstituted board of ICRC has Senator Ken Nnamani as the Chairman while, other members are:

II. Chief Anyin Pius Anyim (SGF) GCON,
III. Mr Mohammed Bello Adoke San (AGF)
IV. Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala (CME/HMF)
V. Mal. Sanusi Lamido Sanusi (Gov, CBN),
VI. Mrs Confort Saro Wiwa, (South-South)
VII. Engr Janet Fabisola Adeyemi (South-West)
VIII. Hjia. Yabawa Wabi Member (North-East)
IX. Hon. Musa Elayo (North-Central)
X. Barr. A.U. Kanu (South-East)
XI. Barr. Aminu Dikko, DG ICRC (North-West)

The Secretary to the Government of the Federation, the Coordinating Minister of the Economy and Minister of Finance, the Attorney-General of the Federation and Minister of Justice as well as the Governor of the Central Bank are all ex-officio members.
Also, President Jonathan on Tuesday challenged the National Agency for Science and Engineering Infrastructure (NASENI) to support Nigerian businesses by producing made in Nigeria aircraft components, heavy duty trucks, tanks and tropicalised electric cars.

President Jonathan, who was speaking while inaugurating the Board of NASENI at the Presidential Villa, Abuja, said the Agency could achieve this task by collaborating with the private sector.

Represented by Vice President Arc Mohammed Namadi Sambo, the President also charged the Agency to attract accelerated investment with good funding prospects, and upwards of 5,000 new businesses.

“We are inaugurating this Board today with great hope and expectation that the agency will facilitate and support Nigerian businesses so that they can deliver new ideas and technologies to our waiting market.”

“In pursuit of this objective and in line with our transformation agenda, I expect that within the next few years, NASENI as an agency of technological advancement, will achieve the following: Made in Nigeria aircraft components in collaboration with the private sector; Manufacture heavy duty trucks, tanks and tropicalised electric cars; and the production of multi-purpose electric motors and generators, all here in our country,” he stated.

President Jonathan further enjoined the Agency to introduce large-scale practical innovations as well as connecting Nigerian businesses to global competitiveness. “Indeed, innovation must be key to our competitive advantage, if we are to win in today’s challenging, knowledge-based global economy, ” he also said.

In his response, the Director General of NASENI, Dr. Muhammad Haruna, expressed gratitude to President Jonathan for the appointment, pledging that the board would deliver on the President’s challenge.

The Members of the Governing Board, which is chaired by President Goodluck Jonathan, include the Ministers of Science and Technology, National Planning, Minister Of Works, Agriculture and Health, while the Director General of NASENI Dr. Muhammad S Haruna, serves as the Executive Vice Chairman/Chief Executive Officer of the agency.

Others members are Mallam Sanusi Lamido Sanusi the Central Bank Of Nigeria Governor; Prof Oyewale Tomori, President, Nigeria Academy Of Science and Eng. Mustapha Shehu, President Nigerian Society Of Engineers.

Prof Placid Njoku, Sen. Femi Okurounmu, Eng K.A. Ali President, COREN; Chief Kola Jamodu, President Manufacturers Association Of Nigeria and Oba Michael Adesina, National Vice President NACCIMA are to serve as members of the Board. Other members of the Board are the National President, Nigerian Association of Small Scale Industrialists, Mr Chuku Wachuku.

Established in 1992, NASENI has the primary task of closing the missing link in the nation economic and technological development.