INEC Chairman Targets Better Elections In 2019

INEC Chairman, Prof. Mahmood Yakubu has  tasked  members of the Election Project Plan Committee (EPPC)  to immediately devote themselves to ensuring that the 2019 general elections are better than the previous ones. He said this at a brief ceremony to inaugurate the Committee .Yakubu also charged them to commence the implementation of the Strategic Plan 2017 – 2021 and to ensure the actualization of all its envisaged goals. He proclaimed that with the inauguration of the Committee, and the approval of the Strategic Plan, the Commission “is now in an election mode.”

The Committee which was  The Committee Thursday  is charged with the responsibility of planning the 2019 general elections. The Commission also approved the 2017 – 2021 Strategic Plan for immediate implementation, following its validation by stakeholders.

The EPPC’s Terms of Reference are: Coordinate all Departmental and State inputs into the planning of elections;   Monitor the performance of the two-year budget estimates for the general elections, identify gaps and advise the Commission appropriately;  Produce a comprehensive, costed Election Project Plan (EPP) for the Commission’s approval;  Ensure the integration of the EPP and the EMS for effective implementation and monitoring and   Provide quarterly progress report on implementation of the EPP up to the Election Day.

Members of the  Committee include: Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu, National Commissioner (Chairman);Dr. Adekunle Ogunmola, National Commissioner  (Member);  Engineer Abubakar Nahuche, National Commissioner (Member); Prof. Bolade Eyinla, Chief Technical Adviser to Hon. Chairman (Member);  Prof. Mohammad Kuna, Special Adviser to Hon. Chairman (Member);  Mr. Rotimi Lawrence Oyekanmi, CPS to Hon. Chairman (Member); and  Prof. Abubakar Momoh, Director General, Electoral Institute (Member)

Other members of the committee are  Mr. A.T Yusuf, Director, Operations (Member);Engr Chidi Nwafor, Director ICT (Member); Mr Iro Gambo, Director, Voter Registry (Member);Mr Aminu Idris, Director, EPM (Member); Mrs. Oluwatoyin Babalola, Director, Legal Services (Member);. Mrs Ruth Endeley, Director, Estate & Works (Member); Mr Oluwole Osaze-Uzzi, Director, Voter Education & Publicity (Member);Mr. Kenneth Ukeagu, Director, Procurement (Member) And Mr Ndeche Okechukwu, Director, Planning & Monitoring (Secretary).

Chairman of the Committee, Prof. Okechukwu Ibeanu while thanking the Commission for the opportunity to serve, promised that the members would immediately devote themselves to the onerous task of making the 2019 general elections a successful one. He said the members regard the assignment as a great honour and privilege for which no stone will be left unturned to achieve the Commission’s goals.