In Support of Affirmative Action for Women : Statement by Concerned Nigerians to the PDP National Convention

The situation analysis that lends itself to the persistent agitation for meaningful recognition of women in the Nigerian political space by Nigerian women and other concerned stakeholders is not new. These analyses have drawn on well-founded researches as well as other scientific national data to highlight the disproportionate distribution of decision-making roles held by women viz-a-viz the sheer numerical strength of Nigerian women. Nigeria’s subscription to the Millennium Declaration of 2000; and her commitment to the realization of the MDGs including Goal #3 had laid to rest the hitherto argument that leadership and decision-making is an exclusive gender role assigned to men. The meritorious performances of countless women as leaders and decision-makers in households, communities, and in the public and private sphere have further confirmed that the social construction and popular perception of gender roles is indeed a barrier to the realization of women’s full potentials in every field of endeavor in Nigeria and must be discarded as our dear country moves on to take her pride of place in the comity of nations.


By its manifest commitment to the realization of the MDGs, including the goal for gender equality and women’s empowerment, the Government of Nigeria has overtly demonstrated its obligation to support women’s consistently valid demands for an expansion of the political space to allow for the meaningful participation of more women. The National Gender Policy endorsed by the Federal Executive Council in 2006 gave additional impetus for replicate sub-sector policies and affirmations that aim to increase women’s political empowerment. The People’s Democratic Party, Africa’s largest party, commendably blazed the trail with a provision in its 2011 Constitution as amended in section 1(6)(7)  that “ in nomination for party offices, not less than 35% shall be reserved for women”. The upcoming national convention of the PDP provides the ruling party with an opportunity to demonstrate exemplary commitment to its own constitutional affirmation.

It is in the light of the foregoing that the undersigned concerned Nigerians write to remind the PDP that the women of Nigeria together with other well-meaning and progressive Nigerians, who believe in the worthy cause of women’s active participation in all aspects of governance, expect nothing less than 35% of all positions to be contested during the national convention holding on the 24th March 2012 to be reserved for women and contested by women only. Nigerians and Nigerian women in particular hold the PDP in high esteem as evident by the overwhelming turn-out of women voters and supporters in successive elections. It is time for the PDP to reciprocate this goodwill by keeping promises made. We are all watching.

Long live the PDP!

Long live the Federal Republic of Nigeria!!

List of Signatories in Support of 35% Affirmative Action for Women in PDP National Convention

1 Name Sex Email
2  Otive Igbuzor M [email protected]
3  Ejiro Igbuzor F [email protected]
4 Josephine Anenih F [email protected]
5 Maryam Uwais F [email protected]
6 Vincent Okwechime M [email protected]
7 Dominic Obozuwa M [email protected]
8 Oby Nwankwo F [email protected]
9 Saudatu Mahdi F [email protected]
10 Philomena Agbeyegbe F [email protected]
11 Boniface Kassam M [email protected]
12 Feyisetan Onyeajuwa Kareem M [email protected]
13 Rosemary Osikoya F [email protected]
14 Angela Onwaeze F [email protected]
15 Carol Ajie F [email protected]
16 Oladipupo Baruwa M [email protected]
17 Ayo Obe F [email protected]
18 Maureen Lance-Onyeiwu F [email protected]
19 Olufunke Baruwa F [email protected]
20 Nkereuwem Akpan M [email protected]
21 Nkoyo Toyo F [email protected]
22 Aisha Osori F [email protected]
23 Constance Meju Amazona F
24 Ojochide Atojoko-Omovbude M [email protected]
25 Ene Ede F [email protected]
26 Rekiya Abaji-Abdulkadir F [email protected]
27 Dennis Ityavyar M [email protected]
28 Jibrin Ibrahim M [email protected]
29 Michael Oberabor M [email protected]
30 Osaro Odemwingie M [email protected]
31 Joy Ezeilo F [email protected]
32 Gloria Osuji F [email protected]
33 Wumi Asubiaro-Dada F [email protected]
34 Ezinwa Okoroafor F [email protected]
35 Rabi Abdullahi F [email protected]
36 Faith Nwadishi F [email protected]
37 National Council of Women Societies F [email protected]
38 Gender and Affirmative Action F [email protected]
39 Women Foundation of Nigeria F [email protected]
40 Julie Ade-Cole F
41 Ego Ezuma F
42 Chinelo Iriele F
43 Ambassador Onoja M
44 Rosemary Agbaji F
45 Feminist Movement in Nigeria
46 Generation Next International
47 League of Women Voters in Nigeria
48 Ngukwase Surma F [email protected]
49 Edwin Usang M [email protected]
50 Pascal Anozie M [email protected]
51 Priscilla Achakpa F wep
52 Abiola Akiyode-Afolabi F [email protected]
53 Lewis Ekiyor M [email protected]
54 Auwal Musa M [email protected]
55 Franca Afegbua F [email protected]