IGP Decorates 41 Newly Promoted Senior Police Officers-See The Full List

The Inspector-General of Police, MD Abubakar, NPM, mni, today (13th August, 2012) decorated forty-one (41) newly promoted senior Police officers. It would be recalled that the Police Service Commission (PSC), in its 28th plenary meeting held on 1st August, 2012, approved and released the promotion of one hundred and thirty-two (132) Senior Officers, including ninety-one (91) Assistant Commissioners of Police who were elevated to the rank of Deputy Commissioners of Police (DCPs).

A statement by spokesman of the Force Headquarters,CSP Frank Mba said in addition to the newly promoted DCPs, is a list of 41 other newly promoted senior Police officers. A break-drown of the list showed that 1 Assistant Inspector-General of Police (AIG) was promoted to the rank of Deputy Inspector-General of Police (DIG), while 8 Commissioners of Police are elevated to the rank of Assistant-Inspectors General of Police (AIGs). Also promoted are 32 Deputy Commissioners of Police, to the substantive rank of Commissioners of Police.

The newly promoted DIG, Philemon I. Leha, MILR, psc+ was born on 14th January, 1954 at Numan, Adamawa State. He began the pursuit of his education at Bille Primary School in 1959 and thereafter proceeded to Bronnum Secondary School, Numan, in 1967. At the end of his Secondary School career in 1971, he gained admission into Bauchi Teachers’ College, Bauchi and obtained his Grade II Teachers’ Certificate in 1973. Philemon I. Leha proceeded to Federal School of Arts and Science, Mubi in 1975, where he obtained his Higher School certificate (HSC) in 1977 and went to Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, to bag his B.A. (Hons) in History. Young Philemon Leha did his National Youth Service at Ijesa-Isu-Ekiti Community Secondary School in 1980/81. After a break, he returned to the academia in 1991 to obtain a Masters Degree in Industrial and Labour Relations from the University of Ibadan.

In pursuit of his strong desire to serve his fatherland, DIG Philemon I. Leha enlisted into the Nigeria Police Force as a Cadet Assistant Superintendent of Police on 1st December, 1981 and has continued in the service of the Force, in different parts of the country, in various capacities and responsibilities, till this memorable day of his decoration as a DIG. He ran through the ranks to attain his present rank. He was promoted to Commissioner of Police while serving in acting

capacity in the Office of the Commissioner of Police, Police Mobile Force (PMF) in Force Headquarters, Abuja and was shortly after, deployed as CP to the Anambra State Police Command. Leha was redeployed to the Office of Commissioner of Police in-charge PMF, in FHQ-Abuja, where fortune smiled on him with promotion to the rank of AIG. This resulted in his redeployment to Kano as the AIG in-charge of Zone 1 of the Nigeria Police Force (comprising Kano, Katsina and Jigawa States),  where he served until his present elevation to the exalted rank of DIG.

DIG Philemon I. Leha has attended several professional Courses in various Institutions, including the prestigious Police Staff College, Jos where he had his Cadet ASP Course and several other courses, including Senior Command Course, in 2001. His commitment to duties, diligence, dedication and hard-work earned him several Awards and Commendation in the Force, including Peace Ambassador by World Peace Federation, among others. His promotion to DIG, it needs be said, is a product of divine destiny.

Among the eight newly promoted and decorated AIGs, are two specialists. The first is AIG Alex E. Okeke, a pharmacist who currently heads the Police Medical Services. He is first Police Pharmacist to rise to the rank of AIG. He is also the first Police Pharmacist to head the Police Medical Services. The second officer is AIG Julius A. Ishola, a Veterinary Doctor who heads the Police Animal Section. The remaining six AIGs are General Duty officers who before now were Commissioners of Police in-charge of various Police Commands across the federation

In his congratulatory message to the newly promoted officers, the Inspector-General of Police in a decoration ceremony held in Force Headquarters, Abuja, charged the officers to see their promotion as additional responsibility, a challenge they are expected to justiceably account for, as a mark of appreciation to the Police authority, the government and people of Nigeria. He enjoined them to impart to their subordinates, the qualities of leadership that saw them merit their elevation.

The IGP challenged the officers to key into the reformatory spirit of the present Police administration in the fight against corruption in all ramifications, the battle against terrorism, kidnapping, armed robbery and criminality in all spheres and definitions. He expressed optimism that Nigerians are about to witness the emergence of a well motivated and proactive Police Force, with capacity to adequately handle the security challenges of the nation; and that not long from now, the security situation in the country will improve substantially.

The IGP used the opportunity to thank Nigerians for their cooperation with the Police in recent times, as evidenced in successes recorded in the fight against crime and criminality in different parts of the country. He also expressed his profound gratitude to the Federal and some State governments, for various supports given to spur the Force in the discharge of its responsibility. He assured Nigerians of the willingness of Force to perform even better, its duty of providing security for all, notwithstanding current challenges.

The IGP was assisted in the decoration exercise by the Chairman of the Police Service Commission and other members of the Management Team.

The list below shows the names of the newly promoted senior officers:



1 AIG Philemon I. Leha AIG ZONE 1- KANO DIG

2 CP Christopher Dega CP BENUE COMMAND AIG


5 CP Mohammed J. Abubakar CP KADUNA COMMAND AIG

6 CP Tambari Y. Muhammmed CP OYO COMMAND AIG


8 CP Julius A. Ishola  FORCE ANIMAL, FHQ, ABJ. AIG

9 CP Alex Emeka Okeke CP PHARMACY, FHQ, ABJ. AIG

10 DCP Stephen Audu Cmdt, Pol Det.Coll, Enugu CP

11 DCP Adams Audu Force Liaison Officer, NASS CP

12 DCP Mohammed Ibrahim Cmdt, Pol Coll, M/duguri  CP


14 DCP Yahaya Garba Ardo National Defence Col, Abj. CP

15 DCP Shuaibu I. Gambo National Defence Col, AbJ.  CP

16 DCP Irimiya F. Yerima Cmdt, Pol Coll, Ikeja CP


18 DCP Abdullahi Yuguda CP SARS, FHQ, ABJ. CP

19 DCP Sanusi A.RufaiCmdt, Pol. Coll., Kaduna CP

20 DCP  Musa Katsina Mohammed CP KOGI COMMAND CP

21 DCP Usman Tilli Abubakar CP Adm ”E” Dept, Fhq, Abj CP

22 DCP Benjamin Uche Onwuka CP Course Cord PSC, Jos  CP

23 DCP Kinsley Ojukwu Omire CP BAYELSA COMMAND CP

24 DCP Tonye Ebiye Ebitituwa CP M.S ‘F’ Dept, FHQ, ABJ CP

25 DCP Mohammed Iyanda Sule CP Border Patrol, FHQ, Abj CP

26 DCP John A. B. Opadokun CP Trg ‘E’ Dept, FHQ, Abj CP

27 DCP Olufemi A. Adenaike CP FEDOPS ‘B’ Dept, FHQ  CP

28 DCP Olufemi David Ogunbayode CP Anti-Terrorist Sqd,FHQ CP

29 DCP Waheed Olayinka Salau CP CCR, FCID, FHQ(annex) CP

30 DCP Dorathy A. Gimba (Mrs) CP Admin, POLAC, Kano CP

31DCP Titilayo Musiliu Busari CP Admin, FHQ, Abj CP

32 DCP Diseye Desire Nsirim (Mrs) CP NIGER COMMAND CP

33 DCP Foluso A. Adebanjo CP EOD, FHQ, ABJ CP
34 DCP Mbu Joseph Mbu CP PMF, FHQ, ABJ CP

35 DCP Agboola Oshodi-Glover CP COOP ’C’ Dept, FHQ  CP
36 DCP A.K. Shodipo CP Ports Authority CMD CP

37 DCP Patrick Dey Dokumor CP SPU, FHQ, ABJ CP

38 DCP Sotonye Leroy Wakama CP EKITI COMMAND

CP 39 DCP Emah Etim Bassey CP Welfare ‘A’ Dept, FHQ, CP

40 DCP Idris Faruk Umar DCP FEDOPS ‘B’ Dept, FHQ CP

41 DCP Anthony Y. Edokpolo DCP AIRWING, FHQ,  CP