IGP Commissions 40 Patrol Vans For Effective Security Of The Highways

The Inspector-General of Police, IGP MD Abubakar NPM, mni, today 29th August, 2012, at Force Headquarters, Abuja, commissioned Forty (40) units of Toyota Hilux Patrol Vans and four specially fitted Crime Scene Investigation vehicles, for immediate deployment to the nation’s highways. The vehicles which will be used primarily for the patrol of our highways are expected to fill the gap created by the recent dismantling of roadblocks by the Force, across the federation.

Abubakar while addressing officers and men of the Force during the commissioning ceremony, warned against any form of misuse of these vehicles, stressing that the vehicles must be used for the purposes for which they are deployed. He stated that the newly acquired vehicles are to reinvigorate the Police Highway Patrol Units nation-wide, to facilitate effective and efficient crime combat on the highways, enhance speedy response to distress calls along our highways and generally enhance the
capacity of the Police to maintain a round-the-clock presence on our highways, in line with the IGP’s concept of high visibility policing.

While appealing for the cooperation, support and understanding of the public in the war against crime and criminality, the IGP assured Nigerians that more vehicles will be deployed to the highways as soon as the Force acquires them.

In addition, the IGP warned officers that will be deployed for this exercise to shun all forms of corruption/unethical conducts and ensure that their firearms are used strictly in accordance with the Police rules of engagement.  He reminded them that as servants of the people, they must accord maximum respect to the fundamental rights of the citizens at all times.

Accordingly, State Command Commissioners of Police under whose direct control and supervision are the Highway Patrol Units and within whose jurisdiction the patrol vehicles are to be deployed, have been direc ted to ensure optimum utilization of the vehicles. They are to provide close supervision of the men and materials under their command and ensure that these officers operate within the confines of relevant laws regulating their deployment.

According to a statement by Frank Mba,Force spokesman,the 40 newly commissioned Patrol vehicles are distributed as indicated  below:
Lagos-Ibadan – Ilesha (Centre – Ibadan) 3 Vehicles;Lagos – Ore – Benin (Centre- Ore)
2    ;Benin – Asaba (Centre- Benin) 2   ;Abuja – Kaduna – Zaria (Centre – Kaduna) 3  ;Kano – Chiromawa – Zaria (Centre – Kano) 3  ; Gusau – Sokoto (Centre – Gusau 3  ; Port Harcourt – Aba – Enugu (Centre – Aba) 2; Bauchi – Damaturu – Maiduguri (Centre – Damaturu) 2   ;Damaturu Town 1 ; Abaji – Lokoja – Okene (Centre – Lokoja) 2  ;Abaji – Gwagwalada – Zuba (Centre – Gwagwalada) 2  ;Onitsha – Owerri (Centre – Onitsha ) 2  ; Abuja – Keffi – Jos New Road (Centre Keffi) 2  ;Gombe – Yola (Centre – Gombe ) 2 ; Sokoto – B/Keffi – Yauri (Centre B/Kebbi) 2 ;B/Gwari – Mokwa – Jebba (Centre – Mokwa) 2;Suleja Town 1;Ilorin – Ogbomosho – Ibadan (Centre – Ogbomosho) 2  ;Benin – Auchi – Okene (Centre – Auchi ) 2

No tags for this post.