Fresh twist as Buhari announces new Economic Advisory Council – See full list

Share the news

By Danlami Nmodu

President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted an Economic Advisory Council (EAC) .

The council was named in a statement signed by Presidential Spokesman Femi Adesina on Monday.(See the full list of members below)

According to Adesina,this advisory council will replace the current Economic Management Team (EMT) and will be reporting directly to the President.Newsdiaryonline reports that this is a significant twist. Hitherto, the EMT was under the leadership of Vice President, Professor Yemi Osinbajo,SAN.

In the statement Monday, Adesina said the Economic Advisory Council (EAC) will advise the President on economic policy matters, including fiscal analysis, economic growth and a range of internal and global economic issues working with the relevant cabinet members and heads of monetary and fiscal agencies.

The EAC will have monthly technical sessions as well as scheduled quarterly meetings with the President.  The Chairman may, however, request for unscheduled meetings if the need arises, Adesina said, with a seeming  note of urgency being attached to economic matters.

Newsdiaryonline reports the list has raised hopes in some circles that the economy will receive renewed attention as Buhari steps into the Next Level

The new Economic Advisory Council (EAC) as listed in the statement by the Presidential Spokesman  includes the following:

1.   Prof. Doyin Salami – Chairman

2.   Dr. Mohammed Sagagi – Vice-Chairman

3.   Prof. Ode Ojowu – Member

4.   Dr. Shehu Yahaya – Member

5.   Dr. Iyabo Masha – Member

6.   Prof. Chukwuma Soludo – Member

7.   Mr. Bismark Rewane – Member

8.   Dr. Mohammed Adaya Salisu – Secretary (Senior Special  Assistant to the President, Development Policy)

Share the news
No tags for this post.