FG’s rude awakening: Moves to reorganize Police now!

VP Sambo

The Federal Government has inaugurated the Presidential Committee Police Re-Organisation saying it will no longer tolerate indolence in the Police Force.

The Presidential Committee under the chairmanship of Mr. Parry Osayande was inaugurated Friday at the State House by Vice Arc Mohammed Namadi Sambo behalf of Goodluck Jonathan.

The Vice who lamented the current state of the Force and the loss of confidence Nigerian public the Force said that “government will no longer tolerate indolence and lack of capacity as excuses for non performance.”

therefore charged the Police to brace up to the “ever tactics and antics of criminals in our society” adding that “a time has come where the whole Force should re-examined and re-organised for efficiency and effectiveness.”

Arc Sambo recalled that the Presidential Committee was set up to “primarily redress the rot in the Force and reposition it to face the challenges of democratic society through the timely prevention and detection of crimes in all its ramifications.”

Vice Sambo tasked the members of the committee to bring their experiences to bear as they set out to discharge the national duty.

Arc Sambo used the occasion to reiterate government’s determination to fight all social vices and ensure the strict observance of the rule of law, emphasising that “where all are equal before the law.”

Responding on behalf of members of the committee, the Chairman, Mr. Parry Osayande, lamented that there was no time in the nation’s history that the Force had suffered the kind of indignity as it is currently being witnessed. maintained that recent events in the  country had shown that the Police had failed woefully in discharging its duties.

Mr. Osayande pledged that they would discharge their responsibilities diligently with a view to restoring the lost glory of the Nigeria Police. also promised that they would re-position the Nigeria Police to an efficient, polite and civil police that would sustain and meet the challenges of a democratic society.

Other members of the Committee are Mr. Casmir . Akagbosu (AIG rtd), Mr. Bashir A. Albasu (AIG rtd), Maj. Gen. S N. Chikwe rtd, Prof. S. D. Mukoro, Dr. Fabian Ajogwu (SAN), Hajiya Aisha Larai Tukur, Alhaji  Abdullahi Yola and Engr. Esther G. Garba as the Secretary.

No tags for this post.