FG, States Form Committee To Drive Export Promotion At NEC Meeting

Share the news

At a National Economic Council meeting dominated by presentations and discussions on how can significantly improve and drive its non-oil exports, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, SAN, directed the composition of a National Committee on Export Promotion to review several ideas and suggestions tabled at today’s meeting at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Speaking at the , composed of State Governors, FCT Minister and the Central Bank Governor, Prof. Osinbajo who chairs the Council expressed delight at “the robust discussions we have had today, and the many useful suggestions made,” adding that both the Federal and State governments would work together to promote non-oil Nigerian exports.

“Whatever the FG is required to do, will we do and States should also take ownership,” the VP stated, noting that both government levels must sit together, work together and assist each other.

He then announced a Committee of consisting of three State Governors: Jigawa, Lagos and Ebonyi and the federal ministers from Industry, Trade & Investment, Agriculture & Rural Development, Power, Works & Housing, Transportation and Finance.

Other members of the Export Promotion Committee of NEC are  the Nigerian Export Promotion Council, NEPC, Nigerian Export Processing Zones Authority, NEPZA, NEXIM Bank, and the CBN. Jigawa State Governor Alhaji Mohammed B. Abubakar is the Chairman, and Industry, Trade & Investment Minister, Dr. Okey Enelamah is Co-Chair.

The Committee which is expected to submit an initial report by November is expected to come up with a concise action plan on how to drive non-oil exports based on the presentations and discussions of Council at Thursday’s meeting.


Share the news