FCT Area Council primaries: Loko wins Abaji APC chairmanship primaries

Mr Angulu Loko, former Chairman of Abaji Area Council, FCT, has picked the chairmanship ticket of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for the Feb. 12, 2022 chairmanship election in the area.

Loko emerged the winner after he polled 150 votes to defeat his close opponent, Abubakar Umar Abdullahi, who got 123 votes, while Alhaji Nda Yaba, got 13 votes and the immediate former secretary of the council, Alhaji Kamal Adamu Shuaibu, scored 10 votes.

The chairman of the party’ electoral committee, Mr Yusuf Gagdi declared Angulu Loko, as winner of the party’ chairmanship primaries amidst tight security in the area.

Gagdi said that a total of 307 delegates were accredited out of 320, while nine invalid votes were recorded during the party’ primaries.

In his reaction, Loko said he was overwhelmed with the support given to him by the party’ delegates to vote for his emergence at the primaries.

He the efforts of the APC stakeholders, party elders, women and groups, especially the council Chairman, Abdulrahman Ajiya, for his support to clinch the party’ ticket.

However, he added that he would consolidate on the work he had done during his first term as chairman of the council in 2004.

The News of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Angulu Loko, was first elected as chairman of the council platform of the defunct All Nigeria People’ Party (ANPP) in 2004.

In his bid to clinch a second term, he lost out to the former chairman of the council, Alhaji Musa Muhammad of the in 2006. (NAN)