ECOWAS Council appoints seven new commissioners

ECOWASThe ECOWAS Council of Ministers has approved the appointment of seven new Commissioners into the expanded ECOWAS Commission, bringing the total number of Commissioners to 15, the Commission announced Friday. It said the Council, comprising ministers responsible for ECOWAS affairs in member states, approved the appointments at their one-day Extra-Ordinary Session in Abidjan, the Ivorian commercial capital, on Thursday.

A statement on Monday said the new Commissioners are expected to assume duties next month to reinforce the existing nine-member Commission comprising the President, Vice President and seven Commissioner’s created in 2007 with the transformation of the defunct Executive Secretariat of the organisation into a Commission.

The Council also approved the appointment of the Community’s Financial Controller as well as the Director Generals and Deputies for two Community institutions.

These are for the Ouagadougou-based West African Health Organisation (WAHO) and the Inter-Governmental Action Group against Money Laundering in West Africa (GIABA), based in Dakar, Senegal.

Also approved by the Council are the recommendations of the Management Succession Committed on the outcome of the interviews conducted November/December 2013 to fill 52 “critical positions” at the Commission and nine others at the affiliate Project Preparation and Development Unit (PPDU) based in Lome.

See the list of the 12 successful candidates for the statutory positions, their portfolios and their countries below:

Mr Jean-Pierre Ezin, Commissioner, Education, Science and Culture Benin
Dr. Isaias Barreto Olimpio da Rosa, Commissioner Telecommunication and Information Technology, Cabo Verde
Mr. Kalilou Traore Commissioner, Industry and Private Sector Promotion, Côte d’Ivoire
Mr. Stephen Nartey, Commissioner, General Administration and Conference,Ghana
Mr. Bangoura Morlaye, Commissioner Energy and Mines, Guinea
Mr. Silva Moitero Joao José, Commissioner Human Resources, Guinea Bissau
Dr. Fatimata Dia Sow, Commissioner Social Affairs and Gender, Senegal
Dr. Muhammad Sani Bello, Financial Controller, Nigeria
Dr. Crespin Xavier, Director General WAHO, Niger
Dr. Laurent Aholofou Assogba, Deputy Director General WAHO, Benin
Mr. Adams Coulibaly, Director General GIABA, Côte d’Ivoire
Mr. Brian Sapati, Deputy Director General, GIABA, Ghana

No tags for this post.