Clark’s position on naming stations after Jonathan, Awolowo uncharitable – BMO

Share the news

The Buhari Media Organisation (BMO) has described the reaction of Ijaw leader Pa Edwin Clark to President Muhammadu Buhari’s decision to name 23 railway stations after some prominent Nigerians as uncharitable and illogical.

BMO said in a statement signed by its Chairman Niyi Akinsiju and Secretary Cassidy Madueke, that it was shocking that an elder statesman would descend to the level of triggering unnecessary sentiments in the public space.

The group noted that it found it strange that Pa Clark used unflattering words to describe the decision to name 23 rail stations after other prominent Nigerians aside from former President Goodluck Jonathan and the late Chief Obafemi Awolowo.

It also wondered what was demeaning in naming stations after distinguished people like former Vice President, Alex Ekwueme; Nigeria’s first Nobel Prize winner, Professor Wole Soyinka and the first Nigerian woman to drive a car, Mrs Funmilayo Ransome-Kuti, to push the cause of gender equality in the country.

BMO added that it was also baffled about how Chief Clark arrived at the conclusion that it was a misnomer to have a Goodluck Jonathan Railway Station and Complex in Agbor, Delta state.

This, according to BMO, is because the station is the operational hub of the Itakpe-Warri standard gauge line and noted that the former President has since commended President Buhari for the gesture.

Share the news