Buhari’s nomination of Lauretta Onochie as INEC commissioner raises dust in Senate

By Haruna Salami

The Wednesday received the request of President Muhammadu Buhari for the confirmation of Lauretta Onochie, (Delta State), and five others for appointment as INEC national commissioners.

Other nominees include Prof. Muhammad Sani Kallah (Katsina states), Prof. Kunle Cornelius  Ajayi  (Ekiti state), Saidu Babura Ahmad, mni (Jigawa state), Prof. Sani Muhammad Adam ( Central zone, and Dr. Baba Bila ( East zone).

The President’s letter read by the President, Ahmad Lawan is “ accordance with Paragraph 14 Part I (F) of the Third Schedule to the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended”.

However, the Minority Leader, Enyinaya Abaribe, before seconding the to refer Buhari’s request to INEC Committee said “it is when passed the evil forest devil still catch us.(sic)

seconding this , dealt with the matter of of Lauretta Onochie. So, we feel surprised same name resurfaced no longer as INEC national commissioner, but now as a Delta State commissioner. Mr. President, reluctantly I second this that this be referred to the relevant committee for , and shall meet Philippi”.

The Senate President, in response to the Minority Leader’s comment, however clarified that “the nominees are not state electoral commissioners, but INEC national commissioners and there was no change in request”.