Buhari approves establishment of National Food Security Council

President Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the constitution of the Council’s membership, few days after he announced the intention of the Federal Government to establish a National Food Security Council.

A statement by the Senior Special Assistant to the President (Media and Publicity), Garba Shehu said that the Council, which would “be chaired by the President, will be inaugurated on Monday, March 26. It will have as members, the Governors of Kebbi, Taraba, Plateau, Lagos, Ebonyi and Delta States.

“Other Members are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation; the Chief of Staff to the President; the National Security Adviser and seven (7) cabinet Ministers. The Ministers to be represented are for Agriculture and Rural Development; Finance; Interior; Industry, Trade and Investment; Water Resources; Environment; and Budget and National Planning,” the statement read.

It added that the National Food Security Council would also have the Chief of Defence Staff; the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Directors-General of the Department of State Services and the National Intelligence Agency as well as the Comptroller-General of the Nigeria Immigration Service as members.

According to the statement, “The broad objectives of the Council will include, developing sustainable solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes; Climate Change and Desertification and their impact on farmland; grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies; oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta Fishing Communities; piracy and banditry; agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

“The Council will also take interest in regional and global policies and trends that bear implications for food security in Nigeria.”


Spread the story

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.