Bayelsa Queens emerge winners of 2019 NWPL Champions’ Shield

Bayelsa Queens have emerged winners of the 2019 Nigeria Women Premier League Champions (NWPL) Shield played on Saturday in Yenagoa, Bayelsa capital.

The team defeated Rivers Angels 2-0 at the end of the regulation time to secure the victory for the first time.
Bayelsa Queens had it first goal through Igwe Uzoamaka in the 43th minute of the game from a free-kick, while Lucky Odiri made it two in the 75 minute.

Bayelsa Queens won the 2018 League Champions, while Rivers Angel clinched the AITEO Cup Champions trophy, whichnqualified both teams for the NWPL Champions’ Shield.

Bayelsa Queens won the Nigeria Women Premier League in 2018 after winning it back to back in 2006 and 2007, while Rivers Angels won their eighth AITEO Cup title, beating Ibom Angels.

Rivers Angels had in 2018 won the Champions’ Shield title in Lagos. (NAN)

Spread the love

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.