Bayelsa PDP Expresses Worry Over Re-Instated LGA Chairmen

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bayelsa State Chapter, said it has noted  “with grave concern the activities of the Chairmen of the three local government areas of Ekeremor, Sagbama and Kolokuma/Opokuma and desperate attempt to   undermine the peace of the LGAs under care. It has come to our notice that the Chairmen are doing so with the active support and collaboration of some desperate politicians and power seekers who do not mean well for our dear state.

A statement by Col. Sam Inokoba (Rtd) Chairman, PDP Bayelsa State Chapter

Said barely two months ago PDP in Bayelsa State waded into the matter concerning the three LGAs. “We took the decision because of several disturbing reports on the refusal of the Chairmen of the three local government areas to work with respective Councilors.

“As a responsible party, we at the time decried the action of the Chairmen, particularly refusal to work with the Councilors. The party advised the chairmen to work harmoniously with councilors and not see reinstatement by the Court as a to exact vengeance.

“Sadly, rather than allow reason prevail, the said chairmen have chosen to embrace the path of self-destruction, apparently because they have long ceased dumped our great party and embraced little known Change Advocacy Party (CAP).

“Having found themselves in councils dominated by PDP-elected councilors, these chairmen have discovered that they cannot be Sole Administrators from their shaky CAP platform.  The point must be clear that no sooner had the Chairmen been reinstated than they appointed their Vice Chairmen recourse to the councilors, who are constitutionally empowered to ratify such appointments.

The party said the three council Chairmen must be to understand that democracy at all levels runs on the time-tested Principle of Separation of Powers. They are not and cannot be imperial chairmen. The councilors, as legislators, should be allowed to do their job. The current crisis in the councils was solely the result of the reinstated chairmen trying to run their councils like emperors and the insistence of the legislators that the Constitution be obeyed.

“No one can question the rights of the councilors to investigate or impeach the chairmen if they so desire. They have such powers under the constitution.  The resort to blackmail is not only cheap, but belated. As a Party that believes in Constitutionality, we insist that the right thing be done no matter whose ox is gored.”

More Report from Bayelsa:

Diezani, Alaibe, Daukoru,Others Named  In Bayelsa Dev & Investment  Advisory Council

(Press Statement) In fulfillment of Governor Dickson’s vision of diversifying the state’s economy beyond oil and gas, coupled with its drive to stimulate private sector participation and the need to attract capital, both local and foreign, a move which clearly informed the administration’s initiative to send a bill to the State House of Assembly establishing the BAYELSA DEVELOPMENT AND INVESTMENT CORPORATION (BDIC), the Bayelsa State Government has after several months of painstaking consultation with major stakeholders and experts, formally constituted the Advisory Council, Board and Management of the  as follows:



His Excellency, Governor Henry Seriake Dickson

2. Ambassador Professor Lawrence B. Ekpebu-Vice Chairman

(Chairman Fiduciary Board)-

3.  Hon. Commissioner for Finance- Chief Duate Iyabi-Member

4. Hon. Commissioner for Trade and Investment-Chief Ayakeme

Massah-  Member

5.  King Amalate Johnny Turner – Member

6.  HRM King Edmund Maduabebe Daukoru

7.  Ambassador (Dr) Godknows Boladei Igali

8.  Chief Francis Doukpola

9.  Dr. Daru Owei

10. Air Vice Marshall Samuel Atti (rtd)

11. Ambassador Emmanuel Oseimiegha Otiotio

12.  Mrs. Diezani Allison-Maduaeke

13.  HRM king Alfred Papapriye Diete- Spiff

14.  Chief Albert K Horsfall

15.  Chief Joshua B Fumudoh

16.  Chief Anderson Eseimokumor

17.  AVM Larry Koinyan

18.  HRH Chief Ebitimi Banigo

19.  Professor Turner T. Isoun

20.  Mrs Jane Alek

21.  Dr (Mrs) Georgina Ngeri-Nwagha

22.  Dr Koripamo Agarry


Proposed Additional international Advisory Council Members yet to be confirmed (awaiting consent)


1. Mrs. Marie Nthebolan (MD Botswana Development Corporation)

2. MD, International Development Corporation (South Africa)

3. Chairman/MD, 1 Malaysia BERHARD




1.   Amb Professor Lawrence B.Ekpebu – Chairman

2.    Chief Ndutimi Alaibe  – Member

3.     Ben Murray-Bruce – Member

4.     Professor Steve Azaiki    –  “

5.     Mr. Tek Koroye        –

6.    Dr.Godbless Azibapu Eruani – Member

7.    Senator. David kobina Brigidi –   “

8.    Mr Mark Yuroki

–   “



9.     Director/Chief Executive Officer

10.     Executive Director, Finance and Administration

11.     Executive Director, Hard Assets

12.     Executive Director, Strategic and Liquid Assets



1.    Mr.Tamunoye (Tam) Alazigha – Director

2.    Mrs. Funkazi Koroye-Crooks, General Counsel – Company

Secretary/ Director of International Liaison.


Bayelsa State, the place where oil was first discovered in commercial quantity is taking this initiative at this time to plan and evolve alternative to bolster the economy and ensure the steady and rapid development of the State in all ramifications.


The Advisory Council, Board and Management of the BAYELSA DEVELOPMENT AND INVESTMENT CORPORATION (BDIC) are expected to be inaugurated during the special one year anniversary Transparency Briefing on Thursday, 14th of February, 2013.

Time is eleven O’clock in the morning

Venue is the Banquet Hall, Government House, Yenagoa.

Daniel Iworiso-Markson
Chief Press Secretary to the Governor of Bayelsa State




No tags for this post.