APC wins Senate, Reps seats in Zamfara

Share the news

By Ishaq Zaki

#TrackNigeria: The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) for Zamfara North, Alhaji Tijjani Yahaya-Kaura has retained his seat in the Senate.

Yahaya-Kaura,  who is the Chairman, Senate Committee on Federal Character, was declared winner with 68,027 votes by the Returning Officer Prof. Aliyu Bunza on Tuesday in Kaura-Namoda.

Bunza said the candidate of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Alhaji Sahabi Ya’u polled 43,521 votes.

“Total number of votes cast is 127507 made up of 123, 056 valid votes and 4,451 rejected votes,” he said.

Also, the Returning Officer for Kaura-Namoda/Birnin-Magaji Federal Constituency, Salisu Sabo, declared the candidate of APC Ibrahim Mohammed winner of the election with 35,795 votes beating the PDP’s candidate, Alhaji Sani Umar who scored 23,672 votes.

Sabo said other candidates who took part in the election are- Ahmad Rabiu of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), who got 430 votes and Aminu Isa Sakajiki of the National Rescue Movement (NRM) who got 1,383 votes among others.

The APC’s candidate for Shinkafi/Zurmi Federal Constituency, Alhaji Abubukar Hussaini-Moriki has also been declared winner.

INEC Returning Officer, Dr Ahmad Galadima said Hussaini-Moriki won with 32,915 votes against the PDP’s candidate, Alhaji Bello Hassan who polled 16,638 votes.

He said the candidates of All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) scored 3,231 votes, while the candidate of National Rescue Movement (NRM) got 3012 votes.

Speaking shortly after, the state APC Chairman, Alhaji Lawal Liman commended party supporters and the entire people of the constituency for electing the party’s candidates.

Liman said APC has retain its position as the strongest party in the state.

“This indicate that people of Zamfara state are satisfied with the APC administration led by Gov. Abdula’ziz Yari and President Muhammadu Buhari,”he said.(NAN)

Share the news