7 states exempted from March 9 governorship election

By Harrison Arubu

#TrackNigeria: The election  will not hold in seven states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.

The affected states, Anambra, Bayelsa, , Ekiti, Kogi, Ondo and Osun, will not be participating because their held at different times `off season’.

This was mainly due court judgments that nullified the election of their governors at different times in the past.

However, the State Houses of Assembly will be conducted in all the 36 states.

The FCT will not witness both because it is run by a minister, who is appointed by the President, with laws by the National Assembly.

But Saturday will witness election of new chairmen and councillors in the six Area Councils of the territory, namely Abaji, Abuja Municipal, Bwari, Gwagwalada, Kuje and Kwali.(NAN)