2015: Igbo Leaders Renew Demand For Presidency

Jonathan-news 600By Chuks Ehirim
In spite of the agreement between some governors in the South-east and south-south political zone to support President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan to stay in office beyond 2015, political leaders of Igbo extractions who reside in the 19 state’s of the north have strongly condemned the alliance and vowed that Ndigbo must present a presidential candidate for the 2015 general elections.
In a communique issued after it’s two-day meeting in Kaduna which held between (10th-11th July 2013), the group which called itself Southeast Forum (SEF) stated that it deliberated on the state of the nation as it particularly concerned Ndigbo in the Nigerian nation.
The communique which was signed by 17 leaders of the forum including it’s coordinator in the 19 northern state, Chief Damian Inyama, Dr. PM Wilfred Okafor (Chairman Abuja) Hon. Donates O. Nwogu (Chairman Kano), AC Ameachi Esq. (Chairman Kaduna) Chief Mathew Achioru (chairman Benue state), Nze Joseph Delibe (Chairman Gombe state), Ijemba Geoffrey (Chairman Kebbi state) and Prof. Charles Ariahu (Chairman Universities Communities), the SEF posited that the igbo race has been subjected to perennial socio-political injustice since independence.
It said: “in the light of the perennial socio-political injustice perpetrated in the Nigeria nation against the Igbo race which she has been deliberately denied by the state of the position of president since independence,” adding that, “this forum strongly insists that it is the turn of Ndigbo to produce a president in 2015 and therefore encourages all lovers of justice and equity support this demand to produce the next president come 2015.”
He stated further that “the forum views with serious concern the denial of Ndigbo, the compensation given to those massacred in the North as a result of the election of Dr. Goodluck Jonathan into the office of the President in 2011.
“It would be recall that Ndigbo were massacred in their tens of thousand and their businesses worth billions of Naira destroyed in the Northern state as a result of their massive support for the President. We therefore call on the President of the Federal Republic to quickly redress this injustice against the southeasterners.”
Continuing, the communique also lashed out at southeast governors and traditional rulers who’re building support base for President Jonathan’s ‘re-election in 2015.
“The Forum condemns in the strongest terms the alliance between the southeastern governors, traditional rulers and south south governors and traditional rulers in support of President Goodluck Jonathan’s ambition to stay in the office beyond 2015.”
The Forum also commiserated with the family of the Col. Adekunle Fajuyi over the passing on of their matriarch, Chief Mrs. Fajuyi. It posited that: “Col. Adekunle Fajuyi proved that a Nigerian can lay down his life for his fellow Nigerian who did not come from his ethnic origin. Ndigbo mourn the demise of his wife.”
Other leaders of the group who signed the communique includes: Dr. C.C. Ajali (chairman Borno state) Engr. Onyebueke E.N (Chairman Plateau state), Vincent Maduchukwu (chairman Katsina state), Chief Obi Oforkansi (chairman Sokoto state), Isiatu Vincent (chairman Nasarawa state), Chief F.U. Enemuo (chairman Kogi state), Mr. Chima Anokwuru (chairman Zamfara state) and Prince Uchena Eze (chairman Taraba state)

No tags for this post.